The Poems of Madam Albithurst

About

Ozzie Fitch was a bit of an experiment with language, to see if I could tell a story about a person using not-quite-MLA-standard-language. It was interesting, to say the least, but from there I moved on to my next experiment: telling a story with not-quite-standard-structure.

The Poems of Madam Albithurst is not a story. Does it have beginning, middle, and end? Of a sort, but in my exploration of the written word, I have come to appreciate that the distinction between prose and poetry is a bit more of a spectrum than a binary — as most everything is. I tried to use Madam Albithurst as a means of seeing how far my complex relationship with language could be pushed. Rather than editing and avoiding complex digressions and descriptions, I indulged in them.

Don’t read this like a story. It may be hard at points, uncomfortable even, but this isn’t a story. It’s a poem. A long one, to be sure, but if you engage with it on this level, and you may find it easier to understand.

The poem takes place in the Myriad Worlds setting; Inspired in part by the absurd worldbuilding of Troika! and the surreal beauty of Evan Dahm, The Myraid Worlds is a setting of complex and conveluded realities hanging in the deep purple Velvet. I hope you enjoy the tour.

Chapters